7th Eddys to pay tribute to Carlo Caparas, Lito Lapid, 4 other movie icons

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) is celebrating the seventh edition of the annual Eddys (Entertainment Editors’ Choice), a film award show happening on July 7 at the Ceremonial Hall of the Marriott Grand Ballroom in Pasay City. The awards show will be broadcast on a delayed telecast on ALLTV.

A highlight of the event will be the recognition of five movie icons who have made indelible marks on the entertainment industry through their outstanding bodies of work.

The late comic strip creator Carlo Caparas will also be honored with a posthumous award for his contributions to the Philippine movie industry.

This year’s Movie Icon Awards will be conferred upon Nova Villa, Leo Martinez, Lito Lapid, Eva Darren and Gina Alajar. They join the ranks of previous awardees who have been recognized for their undying efforts and dedication to elevate local film artistry.

A decorated actress, Villa has starred in over 150 films and is a key figure in local entertainment. Some of her notable works include TV shows “Chicks to Chicks,” “Home Along Da Riles,” and “Pepito Manaloto” and films “Payaso,” “1st Ko si 3rd,” and “Miss Granny” among many others. She’s received numerous awards, including the prestigious “Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice medal” from Pope Francis.

Martinez is an actor, comedian, and director, known for his roles in films like “Up from the Depths,” “Juan Tamad at Mr. Shooli: Mongolian Barbecue,” and “On the Job 2: The Missing 8.” He also served as Director General of the Film Academy of the Philippines.

Actor and politician Lapid gained fame from his iconic roles in the “Leon Guerrero” and “Da Best in da West” film series, as well as notable performances in “Kastilyong Buhangin,” “Hari ng Gatilyo,” “Lapu-Lapu,” and most recently in Brillante Mendoza’s “Apag.”

Darren began her film career in the 1960s and won two awards for her role in “Ang Pulubi” and a nomination for her role in “Ligaya Ang Itawag Mo Sa Akin.” Known for her poignant portrayal of maternal characters, she made memorable appearances in the TV series “Pangako Sa ‘Yo” and “Sineserye Presents: Patayin Sa Sindak si Barbara,” and in the films “Ang Lalaki sa Buhay ni Selya” and “Ate.”

Alajar has had an illustrious career since her debut as a child actress in the 1970s. She’s starred in acclaimed films like Playgirl and Brutal. Transitioning to television in the 2000s, Alajar also directed for GMA Network dramas. Some of her notable film roles include “Manila By Night” and “Brutal.” As a director, she has helmed four Shake, Rattle, & Roll titles, and at least two dozens TV shows and dramas.

SPEEd, a non-profit organization established in 2015, consists of past and current entertainment editors from nationwide newspapers, top tabloids, and online sites, is led by its president Salve Asis of “Pilipino Star Ngayon” and “Pang Masa.”

The Eddys acknowledges the achievements of actors, writers, directors, craftsmen, and producers, solidifying its status as a distinguished film award.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *